Several years ago I randomly won a contest in which I got a free Axbo sleep phase alarm clock from DigitalReviews.net (DRN) where one of the stipulations was that I had to write a review of it after winning. Lo and behold, I did, the editor liked it, and now I’m a staff writer.

I was on hiatus for some time while I finished my master’s degree, but I’m back in the active writing field again, so sharing some links on here seemed like a good idea. If you like what you see there, check back periodically for more from yours truly and the other writers at DRN.

First and foremost is an article I wrote on the earth-shatteringly cool graphics that Nvidia has to offer with its new GTX 480 graphics card. Basically the card uses depth calculations already programmed into existing game graphics, converts them to an immersive 3D signal, and outputs an on-screen image that works in tandem with either static or dynamic polarized glasses to create that “popping out” experience recently made popular in movie theaters (see also: Coraline, Up, Avatar, etc.). Now if you’re at all like me, when you think of 3D movies, some phrases that come to mind are “eh, that’s kind of cool, I guess,” “…somewhat gimmicky,” and “I’ve been watching it like this so long that my head hurts / I feel sick.” Let me be abundantly clear when I say this: None of these are the case with 3D gaming. Now I don’t know if that’s due to the games that I played (Lost Planet 2, Battlefield: Bad Company 2), the slick actively refreshing (60 fps) USB 3D glasses working in tandem with a 120 fps graphical output, or the ability to intimately calibrate the 3D depth settings, but Nvidia has somehow concocted a viable mix for 3D gaming that is 1) Legitimately impressive; 2) Immersive and innovative without feeling at all gimmicky and; 3) Not headache/nausea inducing at all. Explaining it does not do this experience justice at all, I assure you.

In other news, Lost Planet 2 is pretty badass and I’m sorely remiss that I don’t have a console/platform that will be able to play it yet. The demo felt like a visceral, high-quality mix between Predator, Congo, and Aliens, handled like a dream and, needless to say, looked nothing short of visually astounding. True story.

One of my other articles was in regards to the recent release of the DSi XL, Nintendo’s literal big brother to the DSi and the DS lite. What’s up with that? Bigger screens, longer battery life, better stylus, and physically larger/heavier? Why do you tease me with mixed blessings, Nintendo? I’m still torn on what to think since I haven’t had a chance to play one yet, so how do you feel about this new toy, readers (all three of you)?

Have I mentioned that I have a twitter account now? Follow me at jakeninja, where I tend to post mostly about this blog anyway. It’s a vicious cycle.

