I haven’t posted anything since the articles about Fox News and Carol Lieberman attacked Bulletstorm and the gaming industry, which admittedly took quite a bit of energy and time to produce. I know, I know…

Interested in what I’ve been up to since then? If not, I’d advise reading past the break.

First and foremost, school has been devouring my time and energy like a binge-eating dementor. If I’m not in class, I’m traveling to and from class, sending emails about class, reading for class, or talking about class. Such is life.

Beyond that, I’ve been trying to dig into this program you may have heard of called Game Maker.

If you haven’t heard of it, Game Maker is a program that makes game creation accessible to anyone without intimate programming knowledge. I mean, I took VBas and QBas in high school and I dabbled in extremely simple game development, but I don’t have the time and energy to learn C++, Java, Flash, iOS, or some combination of the above right now. Even so, I’d like to work on some game ideas I’ve had brewing for a while. That being the case, Game Maker has been pretty kind to me so far. I’ve been working on the tutorials and I must say that I’m impressed with the flexibility and simplicity so far. For an introductory program to game design that isn’t heavy on technical stuff, Game Maker is exactly what I need right now. If you sound like you might be in my shoes, I suggest you give it a shot since the 10 hour trial is free and an unrestricted license will only set you back about $25. Not too shabby, right?

When I have had the time to play games, I’ve been working on Mass Effect 2 for PS3. Damn, that game is awesome. I may do a review when I’m done, but it will mostly consist of me talking about how and why Mass Effect 2 is so good. Until then, I just have to recommend you give it a shot.

Speaking of things I recommend constantly, did you hear that Assassin’s Creed: Brotherhood is getting even more DLC? This one’s called The Da Vinci Disappearance and apparently it features a big chunk of single player content (10 missions), new multiplayer models, and new multiplayer content that includes a new map. Seriously, check this game out if you haven’t yet and make sure you give the multiplayer a whirl.

That’s one of the other things I’ve been working on. Remember my pokemon guides from generation IV games? Well, I’m working on a big, introductory guide to Pokemon Black and White, the first generation V games. I’m trying to package together all of the pertinent information about the new games so you know exactly what you’re getting into when you get started. Oh, and don’t forget to get to Gamestop right now with your Diamond, Pearl, Platinum, HeartGold, or SoulSilver game to download Celebi: not only is it a chance to get the extremely rare Celebi, but transferring it to Black or White gives you a chance at Zorua (evolves into Zoroark), the new pure Dark type who’s an analog to Riolu and Lucario. Celebi is available now until this Sunday, March 6th, when Diamond and Pearl come out.

With some luck, I’ll make it to the advance release event this Saturday, March 5th, at the Nintendo World Store. It’s not the coolest place to be as an adult on a Saturday afternoon in New York City, but hey, why not? It could be fun, plus you get the game one day early, get Victini on the spot, and have a shot at a free t-shirt. Maybe I’ll even meet one of the guys from Joystiq, Kotaku, or something. One can hope, right?

For anyone with a PS3, this sweet-looking game that originally debuted about a year ago at PAX 2010 is coming out on March 15th on PSN. Imagine if Tetris and Smash Bros. had a baby, only it mutated into something even more awesome. I just hope Slam Bolt Scrappers is as good, or better than, it looks.

Finally, last and certainly not least, PAX East 2011 is almost upon us. PAX East 2010 was easily one of the coolest experiences of my life, so I’m super pumped to go back. It was, after all, the very event that spawned this blog and inspired the last year of my ramblings, from unfocused geeky news and game reviews to pokemon guides and indie dev reviews. If not for PAX East, Aletheia’s Herald would have never been born, so I intend to make this one even better than the last.

 

So there you have it. Stay tuned for updates on my amateur design progress, reviews of cool games like Mass Effect 2 and Slam Bolt Scrappers, a new pokemon guide updated for Black and White, and a flurry of news, previews, game impressions, and maybe even interviews from PAX East 2011. If you like reading this kind of stuff from me, don’t forget to subscribe to Aletheia’s Herald via the buttons on the side!

 

