I rarely get excited about random, new indie iOS game X, Y, or Z*, but one just came out that’s got me pretty much drooling (and not just because I’m on lots of post-surgery hydrocodone). It’s called Superbrothers: Sword & Sworcery EP, it just came out for iPad, iPhone, and iPod Touch, and here’s what I think of it so far.

Superbrothers: Sword & Sworcery EP (or just Sworcery, as I’d prefer to call it) is an adventure game with an amazing soundtrack, beautiful pixel art visuals, and gameplay that isn’t quite like anything else out there. The game is minimalistic, but not so extremely minimalistic that there’s nothing there. Basically all you do is tap or hold-touch the screen to explore or interact with the world. Sometimes you tilt your device vertically to do combat, consisting of one button for blocking and another for swinging your sword. That’s really it and it doesn’t sound like much, but this game is one where the whole is inexplicably greater than the sum of its parts.

Playing Sworcery was like reading one of my favorite books for the second or third time. It was like watching one of my favorite movies after years, remembering why it was that I liked that movie in the first place. It was like opening up a graphic novel I’d never heard of, but instantly knowing that it was going to be a great experience. What I’m saying is that Sworcery is all at once familiar, nostalgic, and brand new, invoking that rare magic that video games sometimes touch upon.

Do you remember your first time fleeing the floating continent in Final Fantasy VI, fighting Bowser in that ridiculous contraption in Super Mario World, hearing the Metal Gear Solid theme for the first time, or any of those other major, formative gaming experiences you picked up along the way? Some way, somehow, Sworcery felt like it had been subtly infused with that same quality, that identical, memorable fiber that’s either there or isn’t.

This is a screenshot I captured when I realized that this game was something special and I had to share it with the world. It’s much prettier in action, too.

Oh, and even if Sworcery wasn’t a game, I would’ve probably still bought it. Why? The soundtrack is phenomenal. It’s atmospheric, smooth, and just the right amount of there. I could just listen to it by itself, which I’ll likely do after it’s released in early April.

I keep trying to explain why and how it is what it is, but I really think you just need to download it, put some headphones on your iOS device of choice, and cozy up somewhere to try it out. You’ll be glad you did.

If you’re still not sure, go check out the company’s main website and take a look at more screenshots, gameplay footage, and some clips from the game’s fantastic soundtrack.

*This statement is a lie. I love indie games, especially on iOS.

