So last night my Reader feed, Facebook, and Twitter feeds all lit up with some wonderful news: The PSN is coming back online! I wasn’t at home, so I couldn’t check for myself, but I thought that after 23 days it was about time for the network to be back online and stable.

I should have learned something from my World of Warcraft days: When a company say something is back online, that doesn’t mean it is.

Saturday Night

Facebook, Twitter, and Google Reader explode with news about how the PSN is going through rolling, regional restarts and will be back online in a matter of hours. I vicariously rejoice as my friends have statuses showing their Portal 2, Clash of Heroes HD and other assorted trophies synced to their PSN profiles. Commence clicking “Like” on every bit of it out of sheer joy that my console’s online services will be up and running when I’m able to get back to them again.

Sunday Morning

The huge Saturday night rush to get back onto the PSN should be over, right? I turn on my PS3, sign in, and get the notice for the new firmware update. It installs in just a few minutes and I go to sign in again where I’m prompted to reset my password, as I expected. The screen loads:

Error Code 80710d36

Um, what? Now, I’m not the entitled kind of person; this entire time, I haven’t bitched and moaned about the PSN being down. I haven’t rallied to start a class-action lawsuit and I’ve even posted on a few website polls about how I don’t think we’re really entitled to extra bonuses with the PSN being unavailable for so long since it’s free. I’ve even been optimistic about Sony’s recovery. Yet when Sony themselves come out to say that the PSN is online and post a bright green map on their websites indicating that all regions are up, I expect things to work. When they don’t, I get a little frustrated.

“…when Sony themselves come out to say that the PSN is online and post a bright green map on their websites indicating that all regions are up, I expect things to work.”

I try a few more times for maybe 15-20 minutes or so to no avail. Eventually it gives me the warning that the “Playstation Network is down for maintenance,” or whatever and I give up to go to the grocery store. Maybe it’ll be back online when I get home…

Sunday Evening

I try again.

You have been signed out of the Playstation Network, error code 80710092.

What the hell? I’ve never even seen this code before. Maybe all it takes is a manual password reset online for this to go through? Yeah, that’s gotta be it.

I decide to go to the Playstation Network website (It’s actually the Store website) to give it a try. It’s not long before I click on the “Sign In” button and I’m treated to a white box with an X in the corner. I even left it there for quite some time just to give it the benefit of the doubt; it never loads.

I ended up playing my Wii instead, starting up a new game of Kirby’s Epic Yarn. It’s an awesome game, truth be told, but not what I was expecting to be doing after hearing news of a functional PSN. First world problems, I know, but everything in this blog that’s a complaint is inherently a first world problem.

Sunday Night

I try everything one more time after I’m done with Kirby but still no dice. Several of my friends have been playing without any problems, but Twitter confirms that I’m definitely not the only one experiencing all of these issues.

“…Twitter confirms that I’m definitely not the only one experiencing all of these issues.”

So tell me: Have you been able to get on the PSN yet? If so, where do you live? I’m near Philadelphia and, as you can see, I’ve had zero luck.

PSN crits you for 999,999

